Identity: Purity

I’ve already shared with you that identity has been something that I’ve struggled with as I felt I had to earn or work towards what I thought my identity was.  Purity was an area that I never felt I had “achieved.”  It wasn’t that I had really made any choices that lead me to thinking I wasn’t “pure” but I never felt good enough.  Let me give you a bit more context…

My name is Kaitlin.  If you’ve ready my post καθαρός then this will all sound familiar but forgive me from indulging for a moment.  My name Kaitlin is derived from the Greek word Kathros.  This word can be found in Matthew 5:8 “Blessed are the pure in heart for they shall see the Lord.”  The word pure in this passage is that Greek word, Kathros.  So you see, my very name speak the identity of purity but I felt as though it was something that I would attain after years of striving, after years of doing what I was supposed to.  I needed to discipline myself in the things of the Lord, get rid of all my sin, and then I would be pure of heart so I could see God.

You see, I thought that my identity and thus my purity was based on me doing instead of me being.

But, purity is so much more than what we often talk about.  Purity is more than saving sex for marriage.  Purity is more than learning to not go too far.  Purity in its simplest form is about relationship, but not the type we typically think about.  Purity is about our relationship with God.

Purity is a lifestyle of wholehearted devotion to God. 

As I began to share earlier… For my whole life I have held onto the verse Matthew 5:8

Matthew 5:8 “Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see the Lord.”

… I held onto the idea that this was who I was destined to be.  My identity was to be pure of heart for then and only then would I receive what my heart desired, to see the Lord.  I have always looked at this verse as something to be attained, that if I try hard enough, if I keep myself pure, if I do all that I should be doing, then and only then could this verse truly be my identity.  But in the last few years God has spoken to me something that changed the way I see my name and myself.

He spoke to me truth.  “Purity of heart” is not something to be attained in the future but instead is the identity that God has already given to me.  God sees me as pure of heart, it is not something I must “make happen” but instead, in my passionate love of Him, it is found.

The phrase pure in heart means having a singleness of heart toward God. A pure heart has no hypocrisy, no guile, no hidden motives. The pure heart is marked by transparency and an uncompromising desire to please God in all things. It is more than an external purity of behavior; it is an internal purity of soul.

Purity is much more than what we can/should do or not do. Purity is a journey that must originate inward and flow outward.  Purity isn’t just about what we have, should, haven’t, shouldn’t do but instead purity is focusing completely our whole attention, in every area of our life on God.

In scripture there is a man who God calls “a man after His own heart.” Do you know who this is?  It is King David.  David: Sought God, Knew God, Meditated on His Word

This type of life starts from the inside.  Inner purity, the condition of our heart, is most important to God.True purity isn’t something we can do on our own.  True purity only comes from Jesus repairing our broken hearts and replacing them entirely.

Titus 3:5 “Jesus saved us, not because of righteous things we have done, but because of His mercy.  He saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit.”

Even King David though, the man who was after God’s own heart, screwed up.  He slept with a married woman, killed her husband and then married her.  But even in the face of his sin God still saw King David as pure of heart.  God saw the inward part of him…

Psalm 51:10, David cries out to the Lord, “Create in me a pure heart and renew a right spirit within me.”

The question isn’t if we will screw up, but instead what will we do when we do?

Purity in our lives doesn’t mean that we don’t screw up, but that we always rely on, have eyes on, turn back to God when we do screw up.

1 John 1:9 “If we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

When we allow God to replace our heart and cleanse us, then he begins to permeate through our whole life.  Is the cry of our heart the same as David’s?  Create in me a pure heart?  Renew the Spirit, will, desires within me?

Growing up my dad used to talk about our lives as though they were a glass house.  He would ask us to invite Jesus into this house and begin to show Him around.  As we showed Him each of the rooms His light would permeate and shine through the whole house.  We had to decide when we came to a room with our sin and garbage if we would allow Him to clean that room so that His light could shine.  This is true purity – allowing God to shine his light through our whole life.

1 Peter 1:22 “Now that you have purified yourselves by obeying the truth so that you have sincere love for each other, love one another deeply, from the heart.

The goal of purity is action – to love God, others and ourselves well.  Purity before God happens when everything we do becomes an act of worship.  Purity is our identity, not because of what we do, have done, don’t do or haven’t done.   Purity is our identity because we are an image bearer of Him. 

God redeems us as His image bearer, when we rely on Him to redeem us, to make us clean – when we turn our hearts fully towards Him and worship Him in all we do, then HE changes our thoughts, feelings, actions and makes us pure.

Will we allow God to redeem our identity?  Will we decide to pursue Him with everything we are and allow Him to bring about purity from our inside out?

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

