A New Thing.

13 01 2016

This Christmas season was a different one for me.  There are two things that I have never done before.  The first?  Spend Christmas away from my family.  The second?  Spend my birthday away from my family.  This year I experienced both of these along with spending them with my church family.  Heading into Christmas I had both a sense of excitement and a sense of nervousness.  Excitement because I was going to experience Christmas as I never had before and nervousness because, I had never experienced Christmas without my family.

As I went through both Christmas, my birthday and New Years with a different type of family everyone asked me how it was and how I was doing.  My answer, it was different but good.  And as I answered I realized something, different doesn’t mean bad, it just means it was… different.

Isn’t it funny how God begins to prepare us as He brings about different seasons in our lives.

Every year or so God gives me an idea or a theme for the year.  One year it was “Fearless” and another “Adventure.”  This year’s theme came as I was sharing with my youth group on New Years Day.  We had a New Years Celebration and at the very end spent a few minutes in worship and I shared a word that I felt God had for them.  And as I shared I realized that just as God was speaking this to them, He was also speaking it to me for 2016.

“See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.”
Isaiah 43:19

A New Thing.

Over the past week, as I visited my family and took some time away, I thought a lot about that phrase.  God wants to do a new thing in my life.  And I believe that it isn’t just ONE thing but instead that throughout my life God is going to be bringing new life.  That in the wilderness, in the areas of my life that haven’t had much fruit God is going to be doing a new thing, a refreshing, new life.

And so, this year I wait to see what God is going to do.  I wait for God to do a new thing.  To bring new life.  I trust and believe and then I walk into 2016 expecting God to meet me.

Actions

Information

One response

24 03 2017
A New Thing… Continued. | normalbeautiful

[…] a year ago I wrote a blog post titled A New Thing.  I talked about experiencing my first Christmas and birthday away from my family and how although […]

Leave a Reply

