When Our Ask is Too Little

5 10 2015

“Indeed, if we consider the unblushing promises of reward and the staggering nature of the rewards promised in the Gospels, it would seem that Our Lord finds our desires, not too strong, but too weak. We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to  go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.”
The Weight of Glory and Other Sermons by C.S. Lewis

The other night I was in my room praying and interceding for the youth of my church, for the youth considering coming and for those who are yet to come.  I was contending for them against the enemy who would seek to steal their very destiny and identity.  I was contending for them as the enemy seeks to steal their innocence and purity.  And then I uttered this phrase…

“God, I only want…”

“If you would only…”

“God, just let them…”

In the middle of my prayer I stopped, because the Lord reprimanded me… the problem is not that I do not contend nor that I do not ask… the problem is that my ask is too little.  I ask for an “only.”  I don’t want to receive and I don’t want my youth to receive an “only.”  I want to receive and want them to receive and experience and be ALL.  Abundance.

1 John 5:14-15“This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us. And if we know that he hears us—whatever we ask—we know that we have what we asked of him.”

John 10:10The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.”

The problem is not that we do not ask, but instead that we ask for an “only” instead of asking, expecting and contending for His abundance.

I don’t want an only and I don’t want to put an only on my teens; I want all that God has for us.  All of His love, all of His Peace, All of His joy, all of His presence, all of His power, ALL.

What about you?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

