Engrained in my Heart

6 03 2015

Today I was talking with a friend about what God has spoken to her lately.  It’s something that I like to talk about with friends, especially those who I don’t get to see face to face.  It gives me a picture of what God is doing in their lives but it also encourages me.  How often does God bury a nugget for me inside what He is speaking to them!

Anyways.. back to the point, there was something that she said that caught my attention and I have ruminated on it all morning.  She said that she has been learning about the covenant we have with God and that it was really getting engrained in her heart how faithful and loyal He is.

How vibrant a phrase to use, engrained in her heart, when talking about the things of God; His covenant, His promises, His law, His faithfulness, His loyalty, His righteousness, His Holiness, His love, His Truth.


Engrained: verb – firmly fixed or established in a person.


Now think about this for a moment though.  She said engrained in her heart not engrained on her heart… It isn’t just firmly fixed or established  on her heart, as though it didn’t belong.  If something is engrained on a surface it can be sanded off but something that is engrained in or within is something that is built into the very fiber of what that is made of, it in essence becomes a part of what it is engrained in; it is woven into the very fiber of it.

She was saying that God’s faithfulness and loyalty were being woven into the fiber of her being so that it would never be taken from her.

Jeremiah 31:33 “’This is the covenant I will make with the house of Israel after that time,’ declares the Lord. ‘I will put my law in their minds and write it on their hearts.  I will be their God, and they will be my people.’”

A part of our covenant with God is that He would put in our mind but also write on our hearts (ingrain in our hearts) His law.  This is how we will be known as His people and He will be known as our God.

So the question now stands… What am I meditating upon and what am I allowing to become engrained in my heartWhat has become a part of who I am; the very fiber of my being?  Is it His law, His promise?  Is it His character, His goodness, His faithfulness, His Holiness?  Is it His Righteousness, His Hope and His Truth?  Is it His Love? What is engrained in my heart?

For what is engrained in my heart will tell to whom I belong.  Is He my God and am I of His people?


What are you meditating upon and allowing to be engrained in your heart?

What are you allowing to become a part of you?

Is it of Him or is it of the world?  Will you be known as His or as the world’s?

Actions

Information

One response

6 03 2015
Engrained in my Heart | Christians Anonymous

[…] Source: Engrained in my Heart […]

Leave a Reply

