.:.Everything in it’s Season.:.

7 09 2014

Life is made up of seasons.   Some seasons are full of growth, other pruning and others seems as though nothing could ever grow again.  The seasons go in a cycle: Fall to Winter, Winter to Spring, Spring to Summer and then Summer leads back into Fall.  Ecclesiastes 3 talks about this idea that for everything there is a season.  The seasons of life always comes full circle; you are always brought back to the point where you began.

As I sit here today I can’t help but see that God in some ways has brought me full circle; He has brought me through seasons to bring me back to the season I arrived here in.  A season of expectation, a season of change, a season full of potential, a season of letting go, a season of stepping into, a season of adventure.

Within the next few months my life is about to change drastically.  I’m excited and terrified. Joyful and sad.  But above everything, I know that God is in the midst of it all.  You see about 3 or so months ago I found out that due to a merge between my district and another district my office would cease to exist after the 31st of December.  I think the announcement brought shock and confirmation all at once.  God had been speaking for months to those within our office about impending change and even within myself He had begun to birth desires for a new thing.  The shock led to mourning as I genuinely love what I do, the people I work with and the pastors that I am able to help.  The confirmation on the other hand led me to seek what God was speaking to my heart.

I put everything on the table: my job at the district, my job as a youth pastor, my place at my church, the city that I lived in, the state that I call home and even this region.  Everything was on the table because, more than my love of the people I do life with and more than my love of New England, is my desire to see the Kingdom of God advanced.  The only way I am where I am is because of the leading of God.  And so, I pressed in, sought God and continually gave up the different aspects of my life. 

Ever so slowly the Lord began to reveal to me His steps for this point in my life.  He is still in the process of revealing what this season entails but it was upon realizing parts of what He was calling me to do that I saw I had come full circle.

Two years ago I declared New Life Community Church to be my home.  I loved the people and quickly after arriving I began my adventure of pastoring the youth.  This Sunday at church we announced my resignation as youth pastor.  One of the hardest things I have every experienced is standing before a people that I love and stepping down because I don’t have answers as to what is next for me or for the youth; there is no person standing in line to take my place. But what God has spoken to me is that trust means releasing control to Him and knowing that although I don’t see it, He has it taken care of.

So you see,  at the end of this month it will have been almost exactly 2 years since I stepped into this role. Two years full of growth and tears and joy and sorrow and pain and laughter. Two years that I never saw coming but two years that were better and more than I could have ever asked for. Two years that prepared me and equipped me for all that God has in store for me going forward.

And so I dream and pray and grab hold of the crazy amazing things that God has begun to speak to my heart.  I treasure them and trust as He works things out and I follow suit.  Here’s to two amazing years full of much love and life and this crazy new adventure of a season that I am moving into.

Please join me in praying for the people of NLCC as much change has come to their doorstep. Pray for my youth who God wants to continue to work in and through. And finally, please pray that God would make known His path and that I would follow with unwavering steps.

I’m poised and ready to step forth into the unknown. Are you ready to go with me?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

