2013 was tough.  Not in the way that other years have been tough but 2013 made me grow and stretch more than any other year.  And I was more lonely in 2013 than any other year.  I was more challenged in 2013 than any other year.  I had to grow more in 2013 than any other year.

2013 was challenging.  So challenging that I’ve been having a hard time putting it into words because challenging doesn’t mean that 2013 wasn’t good.  Challenging doesn’t mean that I didn’t have fun, that I didn’t enjoy life or that 2013 wasn’t a blessing.  But 2013 was hard.  Much tears, much sweat and a bit of groaning.

And yet, here we are in 2014.  I survived. I made it out alive.  And it is because of the growth, the challenge, the trials and the tears that I stand where I am in 2014.  And let me say, what a year this is going to be.  It is a new year and God has new things for me.

Challenges will continue but I have strength that I never had before.  Tears will come but I know that they will end.  And in the midst of it all there is God’s word.  His guidance.  His peace and joy and comfort.  There is His promise, His purpose and His provision.

And in the midst of it all, there is His question, “Are you ready?”  For just as 2013 was a year of growth and establishment, 2014 is a year of new beginnings and launching into.  It is a year to stand firmly in, a year to take hold of and a year to not be afraid because all that I struggled with God through, all that He challenged me on and with had a basis in fear.  Fear in community, fear in relationships, fear in provision and fear in self worth.  But 2014 is a year where fear does not have power.

2014 holds great promise as any new year but more so because of all that God did in me in 2013.

Cheers to a new year and the potential that is to be grasped in it!!

2 thoughts on “One year to another: As 2013 becomes 2014

Add yours

  1. I completely identify with this post. There were some excellent things that happened in 2013, but overall it was an extremely challenging year and I faced external and internal battles I never thought possible, but I know that while God will continue to stretch me and challenge me, there will be a reaping of rewards from some of the things sown in 2013 and I am sure the same goes for you.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

