#Kortnigothitched

Woops.  I wrote this blog post at the beginning of September, over a month ago, and somehow it never was posted.  I think I had the intention of inserting more photos and it didn’t happen.  Hmm.  So here you go!  Just Imagine it’s the first week of September and you’ll get along just fine :)

My best friend got hitched a few weeks ago.  And I still can’t believe it.  Partly because it’s weird to think that my best friend is married and partly because it makes me realize I’m getting older.  Weird.  So what do I say?  How do I write down the thoughts, feelings and excitement I have for them?  Well I guess I’ll break it down so you can hear it all!

The couple:

I love them.  Don’t tell anyone else, this will have to be our little secret, but they are possibly my favorite couple ever.  Why?  Probably because I was there before, during and now.

Kortni is my best friend and has been since the day that I met her. (I have more than one best friend btw because well God’s blessed me…)  She was my first roommate and for 3 ½ years my only roommate.  She put up with my crazy outfits, gross colored hair and let’s be honest moments of complete uncleanness.  That’s what happens when you first go to college, right?  But her clean freakiness wore off on me so after 3 ½ years I am now considered the clean one.  J  The first day we met we stayed up way too late just talking and after 3 1/2 years we still do that when we get together.  It was as though I had known her forever but we had to catch up on the time we had been apart.  There was so much about her that just made sense to me.  We have laughed, cried and yelled a lot at each other and I couldn’t be more thankful for each and every moment.  Kortni has seen me at my best and at my worst…. She has seen me cry more times than I would like to admit and yet she never walked away. 

Kortni 4

I knew her before Anthony.  I knew her when she was dating someone else, when she was talking to other guys.  But then Anthony came along and she didn’t know what to do.  That is probably one of my favorite things about their relationship.  In the past I had seen her confidently move into a relationship, it seemed normal and natural but with Anthony she didn’t know what she was doing.

And who was Anthony?  A youngin!!  She rocked the cradle with this one ;) No, but in all seriousness, he just kind of appeared.  It was accidental how they started talking and you could tell that neither of them knew what was going on.  And yet, it just made sense.  My sister once told me that although there is truth to the fact that relationships take work there is also an aspect where it should just work, it should be easy while also taking work.  I haven’t experienced this yet but in watching these two that advice suddenly made sense.  So as they moved forward in their relationship and I got to know Anthony it was as though the pieces of who they are just fell into place like a rather intricate puzzle.  The summer after they started dating Kortni went to Africa for a month just as we moving into an apartment.  And it was over that month that Anthony really got a place in my heart.  He helped me move her in, he brought me coffee and we talked about them.  We talked about when they were going to get engaged, how he was going to do it and I gave him my approval!  It was in that month that Anthony was no longer my best friends boyfriend that I liked but he became my friend.  That was over a year before they got engaged but it cemented into my heart his place.  But Anthony never made me feel like the roommate and most of the time I wasn’t thought of as the awkward third wheel but I was a friend.

And Kortni and Anthony together are adorable.  They are unique and bizarre and wonderful.  Everything that a good couple should be, right?! They go to different restaurants and write critique blogs.  They watch “Big Bang Theory” and they read books to each other.  They laugh, they cry and they just enjoy life.

Stolen Moments:

I flew into LA the Wed before the wedding and that meant that I stayed with Kortni Wed night until their wedding!  And two of those nights it was just Kortni and Kaitlin, just like old times.  The first night I arrived later at night and I was exhausted.  You wouldn’t think that a three hour time difference would be that big a deal but when you arrive at like 9 pm and don’t go to bed till after midnight you are exhausted.  But we never could go to bed easily when we had been away from each other so we talked, giggled and chatted a lot later than we should have.  Then up the next morning so Kortni could go to work for a couple of hours.  Then we had a roommate date. 

Some people don’t know what a roommate date is… When we were in college we made sure that at least once a month we would go on what we would call a roommate date.  It was that time that we held each other accountable, we asked the hard questions, talked about life and school and boys.  It was also the times where we could talk about our frustrations with each other, when we could be brutally honest because we loved each other and we valued our friendship.  We had a couple of haunts that were our normal roommate date locations: Target, Ross and Goodwill.  At Ross and Goodwill we played this “game.”  We would pick out hideous outfits for the other person to try on… it was hilarious.  Kortni was a lot better at the game than I was but we always had a great time.  And so it was fitting that before she got married we would do this again, so off w went with Kortni’s sister and it was a hoot!  Our goal this time was to find ugly bridesmaid dresses to wear bowling for the bachelorette party!

Kortni 2 Kortni 3

I loved my stolen hours with my best friend.  Talking about everything and anything.  Sharing our fears and our dreams.  I love her and I’m so thankful for having that time with her.

A wedding unlike any other:

Well their wedding was in the backyard of Kortni’s aunt and uncle which for me was a first.  But it was beautiful.  Kortni had bought a designer dress for a steal and then proceeded to cut the dress and alter it.  What came about at the end was the perfect dress for her.  I was a little skeptical until I saw it in person.  When I saw it the dress was Kortni.  Kortni is a pretty laid back person and her wedding wasn’t any different.  She was one of the most laid back brides ever and I think she cared more about if we were happy than about herself.

But there was one thing that she really wanted and that was for the wedding party to jump into the pool at the end of the night.  Now there was a lot of controversy about this for whatever reason but… in the end we did.  The guys jumped in with the wedding garter and then the girl joined and then Kortni and Anthony as man and wife TOOK THE PLUNGE!  They, hand in hand, jumped into the pool.  It was unlike anything I had ever seen or experienced.  And it was perfect for who they are: fun and a little crazy!

My favorite moment though was as Kortni walked down the aisle and Anthony started crying.  You could see how much this moment and this lady meant to himAnd I am forever thankful for the opportunity to love them, to see them on this journey and to have been a part of their special day.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

