This Too Shall Pass

2 09 2013

It’s been a while since I’ve written and a lot has happened. So much has happened and so many thoughts have taken up resident in my mind that I have at least four blog ideas tumbling around (that number is now at 7, with 4 still not written). I’ve been busy, life has gotten in the way but really all I can blame is my lack of making time. But I’m here now, so here we go.

Often when I’m in the midst of a difficult season, situation, conversation, experience, etc. I feel as though it is never going to end. Do you ever feel that way?  All I can see is what I’m in and how terrible it is. In my mind I cannot fathom how it could get any harder or worse. If it has to do with another individual I often wonder how we can keep on being friends. How will I ever be able to look past this, will I always think of this when we are together? And the truth is that once things have blown over, the situation is done and everything/everybody has moved on it’s done. Sometimes you will remember and have to walk through that but I don’t have to live in the midst of it any longer. How wonderful is that! But how often do we forget this in the midst of what we are dealing with?

I was in a car accident a little over a week ago and this blog post has everything and nothing to do with that. I’m not going to tell the story or get into specifics but I have most definitely been living in that space where I wonder, will this ever be over? Will I ever feel the way I felt before? Now that I’ve experienced it how do you go back to living a normal life? All I can see is the mountain, the problem, the difficulties before me. Why? Because I’m human. And in the midst of the moment my instinct is to revert to my human eyes when the true sight is seen through Jesus.
A couple of years ago a friend shared with me four simple words that have never left my mind. In the midst of a hard time, an emotionally packed season where change was in the air, hurt was holding my heart captive and I was more than a little scared about the uncertainty of the future he quite simply said, “This too shall pass.”

Wow. How true and weighty are those four simple words in the face of any obstacle we face, “this too shall pass.”  Let’s be honest, no matter how terrible anything that we face is, we always make it to the other side. We always get to the place where it doesn’t hurt so badly, where it is not our constant thought and where we begin to live our lives in some semblance of order. “This too shall pass.”

How crazy how four simple words spoken a year and a half ago would resound so deeply within me. I don’t think it is the words though that resound so deeply, it is the voice in which they were said. It was the voice of Jesus. Pause for a second, I am not saying that my friend is Jesus, okay? Just want to be clear about that. What I am saying though is that in that instant I wasn’t hearing my friend but I was hearing the sweet voice of my Savior whispering, “This too shall pass.” And I think He was speaking about far more than just a simple human emotion. He was speaking about the emotion, pain, situation, but He was also speaking about everything that this world encompasses.

This world and its desires pass away, but whoever does the will of God lives forever.” 1 John 2:17

Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will never pass away.” Matthew 24:35

“Those who use the things of the world should not become attached to them. For this world as we know it will soon pass away.” 1 Corinthians 7:31

“THIS too shall pass.”

And those four simple words have been a mantra that Jesus has been breathing over me for the past 18 months, This too, my dear sweet child, shall pass. Hold fast and stand firm. Grasp tightly onto My words and My promise for they will never fade. Don’t look through your human eyes for they will only see the natural but instead look through My eyes to the eternal.”

And each circumstance, be it something hard or new or painful, does pass and I do move on. And Jesus, in the midst of it all, He is ever faithful.

What do you think?  Are you going through or have you ever gone through something
where it felt like you wouldn’t make it out alive? 

Has Jesus ever spoken those words to you? A mantra that helps you make it through?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

