The Vow.

7 03 2013

Last week I had the opportunity to travel to Sunny Southern California to rep at my school for my district.  It was such a blessing to 1. Get some vitamin D, 2. See friends and 3. talk about a region that has stolen my heart.  It was fun to be able to see friends that I haven’t seen in 10 months and truly be able to see how they have grown up.  If it was up to me I would have successfully convinced everyone I talked to of how AWESOME New England and the Northeast is and how God is calling them here!  But… God likes to take His time with these things so I’m trusting that the convincing is happening. 

Well… one of my friends who is still going to Life is actually from my home town.  It was amazing to see her but now I miss her even more.  Weird.  We knew each other in high school.  Actually… I might have stolen a guy from her in high school… and dated him.  Long story for another time.  Or maybe never.  Anyways…. This girl is awesome and through the wonderful planning of God I was able to spend last year with her at school.  It was so incredible to get another chance at our friendship.  We had been friends my senior year of high school but when I went away to college we only barely kept in touch.  It wasn’t because we weren’t friends it just was what happened.  Well then she ended up coming to Life my senior year and we hung out A LOT more.  And basically I love her dearly.

But.  This post is not about her.  In truth this is a post about one of her friends who I had the extreme privilege of meeting while I was in California.  And when I say meet I don’t mean that I was able to talk with her… talk at her yes, but talk with her no.  You see for the Season of Lent this friend, who shall remain nameless, has given up speaking.  She has made a vow to set aside this form of communication.  There are a couple of exceptions.  She writes down what she needs, she signs and mouths words to communicate and she sings.  And oh does she sing… sweet, sweet music.  I asked a lot of questions when I met her and was informed of this decision.  She’s a college student so my first was how did her professors feel about this.  She said that they were fine with it.   Which is probably a good thing since Life Pacific College is a Bible College.

I was awed by her decision.  I couldn’t stop thinking about it and observing her.  It’s funny because although we never sat down and had a conversation, which I would have loved to do, I found my heart growing quite fond of her.  I watched her… in worship, singing before a group of college students and as she simply closed her eyes to thank the Lord for our taco truck dinner.  And it was through her actions not her words that I witnessed true ardent love.  I don’t think I can adequately put into words what I saw her doing without words.

For someone like me, who speaks a lot and uses words to communicate, seeing her vow in action was beautiful.  I was touched and as I sit here, on the other side of the country thinking about her I can’t help but thank God that I was able to witness this. 

My prayer is that my relationship with the Lord would be as evident to those around me without my words as it is with my words.  Just as her simple vow made an impact on me I pray that there would be simple vows in my own life that would speak such pure love to others.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

