When our words are TOO much

I am a talker.  Don’t know if you knew that but I most definitely am.  I think it’s hereditary…. my whole family talks.  But the thing is I’m not just a talker but really I’m a communicator.  I love to use different things to express who I am, what I think and how I’m feeling.  Written, spoken, sung, signaled.  I love it all.

But there truly is an art to communication.  There is a point in time when speaking becomes too much.  Our words carrt too much weight.  It does more harm than good.  Emotions get sparked, feelings get hurt and things begin to spiral out of control.  What you meant is no longer what is heard.

The sad reality though is that people don’t learn this.  They just don’t get it.  We come from a culture and a society where freedom of speech is number one, that no matter what we have to say we should be able to say it.  Now understand that I believe whole heartedly in freedom of speech BUT I think there is a bigger picture that we are all missing.  The bigger picture is the Kingdom of God.  The bigger picture is God Himself.  The bigger picture is His LOVE.

I have thought about this for the past couple of weeks as the whole Chick-fil-A thing has been going on and I guess I’m just adding my 2 cents to the whole thing (go ahead and groan).

I believe and support what the Chick-fil-A CEO (I think) said.  I believe the he was being honest about the values that the company holds, I honestly believe that he wasn’t being judgmental but instead it would seem he was only answering a question about the company.  I don’t have a problem with any of that… my problem is with the response.  The response from everyone, on both sides.  But especially from Christians.  But not because they supported Chick-fil-A… and not because they supported the truth of the Bible but because there seems to be a truth missing. 

You see, when you choose to speak out about an issue… when you choose to be an advocat, your words have weight.  You are accountable for that weight.  You are held accountable for the people that follow and the hurt that is done.  The issue isn’t that you are speaking, the issue is that there is no understanding of the weight of those words.  And there is a point in time, there are issues that arise where we must truly seek the Lord, seek His heart and figure out our response.

I don’t know what the right response was in the Chick-fil-A issue.  But I do know that through it all what should have been shown was love.  For God loves, that is His heart.  He sent Jesus to die on the cross for the redemption of humanity.  Every person has a chance at that redemption and that Love But when our words speak the opposite of love, when our words instead alienate we are then robbing God of that redemption.

Our words often are our action and they speak louder than what we claim to believe.  Our words, actions and beliefs must stand hand in hand.  We have to learn when to speak up and when speaking is too much.  It’s a learning process… it takes time and makes you rely upon the Lord.  Thankfully… the Lord is a talker too.  He is forever speaking, if only we would stop talking and listen.

So in my own life.. before I speak I must learn to listen.
Before WE speak WE must learn to listen to Him and speak HIS truth to the world. 

2 thoughts on “When our words are TOO much

Add yours

  1. There is an art to communication – and I find writing to be my outlet. Although I am not a talker, as I’ve grown up, matured, and broken out of my shell – I find more and more outlets of communication. Speaking, writing, signaling, etc. I even find an outlet for communication with nonverbal cues. I really enjoyed your blog – keep up the good work. I’m also looking for insightful and informative blogs such as your own, I will make sure to visit your page more often. Please visit http://www.mynutritioninsight.com for information and disease prevention and healthy food and drink recipes.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

