Walking on Water

14 05 2012

The last few weeks have been crazy.  The semester was ending, I was moving out of my apartment, ending my job and graduating.  In fact I moved out of my apartment 2 weeks ago today and have been living out of my car since.  Talk about craziness.

But somewhere in the midst of all that craziness I had a God moment… well more than one but one that I just can’t get out of my mind.  It actually came out of a sermon that I heard from a speaker at our church, Roger Smets.  He was talking about the passage where Peter walks on water and to be perfectly honest I’m not sure what his point was because as soon as he read the passage I was caught in what I had read for so long and not seen.

Now in the fourth watch of the night Jesus went to them, walking on the sea.  And when the disciples saw Him walking on the sea, they were troubled, saying, “it is a ghost!”  And they cried out for fear.  But immediately Jesus spoke to them, saying, “be of good cheer!  It is I; do not be afraid.”  And Peter answered Him and said, “Lord, if it is You, command me to come to You on the water.”  So He said, “Come.”  And when Peter had come down out of the boat, he walked on the water to go to Jesus.  But when he aw that the wind was boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink he cried out saying, “Lord, save me!” And immediately Jesus stretched out His hand and caught him, and said to Him, “Oh you of little faith, why did you doubt?”  And when they got into the boat, the wind ceased.   (Matt 14:25-33)

Now I’ve always focused on Peter in this passage, that Peter was the one who got out of the boat when Jesus told Him to come… it was Peter who walked on water… it was Peter who stopped looking at Jesus and instead saw the waves and began to sink…. I had always looked at Peter and tried to learn a lesson off of what Peter did and didn’t do.

This day was different.

As soon as Roger began to read this passage it became clear that my focus had been off, the I should not be focusing on Peter and what he did or didn’t do and what I should or shouldn’t be doing but instead my focus should be on Jesus’ role in the passage.  My focus should be on Jesus.  In the passage what Jesus was doing and where Jesus was at didn’t change.  He was there when he called Peter, He was there when Peter began to sink and He was there when Peter called out to Him.

Jesus stayed the same.

Jesus is there if we succeed or if we fail.  In the end it isn’t us that matters; it isn’t success or failure that matters… it is only Jesus that matters.

It was a rather timely reminder for me…. as I move out into a new chapter of my life.  As I leave friends, as I deal with my emotions and as I learn more of who I am it doesn’t matter if I succeed or if I fail.  That is the honest to goodness truth.  The only thing worth focusing on is Jesus, whether I succeed and thrive or fail does not.

A few years ago God shared with me that my life and my journey wasn’t really about me.  I don’t mean to say that God doesn’t care about me, that I shouldn’t be striving to do what is best for me, what God is telling me to do and to live a healthy and joyful life but… in the end I am not what everything is all about.  Instead it is about the people that I will be reaching for God.  The people that don’t know Him today but will know Him tomorrow.  The people that God is allowing me to play a part in reaching.  And yet, He also shared that they are not even what everything is all about.  My life, ministry, the world isn’t about myself nor is it all about people knowing people for eternal life but truly it is about God’s glory.

My life is not the focus.  Other people are not the focus.  The true end, the true focus is God and His glory.

Where do you think God is calling out to you, seeking you to Walk on Water?

Is your focus on what you can do to make sure you will Walk on Water or is your focus on Him?

I challenge you, risk where God is asking you to risk, focusing on Jesus
and knowing that in the end He is all that matters.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

