To my dearest neice…

The last two months I have experienced one of the most amazing experiences of my life… becoming an aunt. Amazing because my parents are now grandparents, I am related by flesh and blood to a beautiful and intriguing bundle of joy, flesh and blood that is a manifestation of the beautiful love of my brother-in-law and sister and that means my sister and brother-in-law are new parents.   To be able to see someone who I remember teaching me the electric slide and who as a young child was the only person I trusted enough to curl my short hair now mothering is amazing and awe-inspiring. As I watch I can’t help but think that it is as though they was both created to do this, the ease and the joy in which they both attends to my neice is something that often brings me close to tears.

And so… in honor of the New Year and the new life that my family has been experiencing I would like to dedicate this post to my sister, brother and family as I write to my wonderful neice.

My Dearest Mo,

For you formed my inward parts; You covered me in my mother’s womb.  I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are your works, and that my soul know very well, My frames was not hidden from You, when I was made in secret, and skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth. Psalm 139:13-15

I hope you understand how special you are to our family, how truly unique, beautiful and loved you are. Before you were even a twinkle in your father’s eye, before your mother was even old enough to think about who your father would be, I wondered about you. I knew that the things about your mom that drove me crazy as her sister where the exact things that would make her the best person to raise you.  You mark the start of a new chapter in our families journey, a gift from God to bless us in our pursuit of what He has for us just as you are a blessing that shows the complete love of your mother and father.

But my prayer for you is that you won’t only look at yourself as the start of a chapter but instead that you would know the anointing that the Lord has upon this family and that the Lord has upon your mother and father.  Seemingly from the outside your little family is just moving forward as life goes on and yet, the truth is found through God’s eyes.  For me your mother and father have both been people that the Lord has used in my own life: your mother is one of my biggest heros for who she was growing up and who she has become, she always stood up for what she believed in and has allowed the Lord to heal her and bring her to wholeness.  Your dad has become the best brother I have ever had (hehe) and the best example of the type of man that I want to marry, he loves your mother very much and loves our family as his own.  Their love, support and even their desire for me to be in their lives gives me the strength and the courage to listen to God and to follow what He is telling me to do.

You my dear little one are a blessing and a joy!  I pray that as you grow up that you will find an intimacy with the Lord that took us along time to desire.  I pray that the anointing that God has blessed our family with will be every stronger in you.  I pray that you will bring joy to those who you encounter through your smile, your touch and your words.

That you will not shy away from being yourself, from speaking your mind and from sharing your love.  That the Lord will guard your heart and that you will look to your parents for guidance, truth and wisdom.  Hold close to your heart that you are wanted, respected and known.  Do not shy away from knowing and being known.  Enjoy your childhood, cling tightly to the time you share with family and friends, do not think family a thing to be endured but instead to be treasured.  Know that God has a wonderful plan for your life that is different than anyone elses, do not get upset when it takes longer than you desire and do not desire to grow up too quickly but instead enjoy the blessing of time.  And finally above all live, laugh but most of all love!

I know you are a bit young to understand this but these words are for you today all the same.  I look forward to learning who you are as you grow older.  I look forward to seeing my family grow with you.  You have a very special place in my heart and you will always be my very favorite first neice! God Bless little one, I love you dearly!!

With all my love,

Auntie Kaitlin

 

Do you ever struggle to tell someone what you truly feel?

Take the time today to speak life into someone you love and to speak love into someone who needs life!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

