-Something soooo Big-

19 11 2011

So two events happened this week that really made me stop and take notice.  The first was an extremely joyous occasion.  My sister gave birth to my neice.   Mackenzie Marie OrozcoBeautiful and sweet… I get to meet her this next Wednesday.

The second event was on the other end of the spectrum.  It was quite sad and caught me by surprise.  A mentor from high school, a woman who helped me become who I am today and who influenced me heavily on my thinking about leadership as well as ministry informed me that two weeks ago she had been diagnosed with breast cancer and on that day she was going in for surgery.

I was shocked.

In the midst of my joy over the birth of my neice was the news that someone near and dear to my heart was going up against cancer.  How do you reconcile those two facts together?  Can you and should you?  Or do you seperate them out so that the joy remains pure and the sorrow remains hidden?

It seemed as though there were two conflicting things in my life….

Baby Mo on one side                                                           and then Cancer on the other

In talking with my mentor I found out that no one in my family knew because she hadn’t wanted to jade our joy and jubilee over the much anticipated birth of my neice with her sorrowful news.  In that moment I knew the answer… The only way that I could continue to have pure joy was to have that pure joy along side grief over my mentors diagnoses.  Those two must lay side by side in love.

Because Jesus’ love is wide enough… deep enough… high enough… BIG enough to reach both the pure joy of the birth of my wonderful neice as well as the grief over the scary diagnoses and ensuing surgery for my mentor.  God is BIG enough and so is His love.  Jesus died for both of those things.

Jesus’ love is soooo Big that we should never worry that something would out shadow or shine the other for they are both covered in the blood of the cross and it is the love that shines brighter than all.

I am at a place in my life where I am realizing how BIG God is and how small I am.  I am thankful that I don’t have to be big and that He is looking out for me, He loves me and He is guiding my path.

This month is a month to be especially mindful of the things we are thankful for… take a moment to recognize how BIG God’s love is and how He encompasses both the good and the bad in your life with His love.

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 11 2011
Melissa

Wow, that’s a pretty powerful lesson to have learned. Praying for you as you walk through this battle with your friend.

20 11 2011
Normal Beautiful

Thank you so much Melissa. This year God has really been showing me how much He loves me and how that love is greater than any love that any person could ever give to me, not that the love that people give is worthless it just can’t amass to anything near how great His love is. I’m in awe of that and in awe of what He is blessing me with, as I face both the God and the bad that comes with life. I miss you and your family :) Thinking of you guys often!

Leave a Reply

