Someday’s not Today and Today’s not Someday…

The other day as I was driving home from spending sometime in downtown Pasadena with friends, I was blarring the country music with my windows down and singing off key at the top of my lungs.  I couldn’t have cared less how I looked because it felt perfect.  Then the song “Live like you were dying” by Tim McGraw came on and I couldn’t help but listen to the words as I belted it out…

And I loved deeper and I spoke sweeter,
And I gave forgiveness I’d been denying.
An’ he said: “Some day, I hope you get the chance,
To live like you were dyin’.”

It hit me.  I kept saying someday I would be willing to risk my love to those that could deny me.  Someday I would forgive all who had wronged me.  Someday I would throw caution to the wind and just liveSomedaySomeday I will have a ministry of my own.  Someday I will be a mother of my own.  Someday I will have a family all my own.   Someday my life will begin.  Someday I will live fully. Someday.

But… Someday is not Today and Today is not Someday

Why should I wait until Someday when I have Today instead.  It’s okay to dream and to know that there will be a future but that doesn’t mean staying stagnant until someday becomes today.  Instead we should be moving forward, dreaming as we go but taking the steps to get to our dreams.

In our faith shouldn’t it be the same? 

I find myself getting so caught up in my future and in what God has called me to be “when I grow up” that I forget what He has called me to today

 I forget to love deeply because I want to stay whole for tomorrow.  I get caught up in my emotions and forget to speak with sweet words.  I hold grudges, refuse to forgive and pretend like I am so much better.

But… someday is not today and today is not someday.  I must learn to live in the moment and to live as though I hadn’t a moment to spare; to love deeply, speak sweetly and forgive those who wound me. 

What about you?  Are you living in today or are you allowing yourself to be stuck in your someday forgetting about today? 

Join me in learning how to live like there wasn’t another chance tomorrow; giving all our love, forgiveness and grace today to be refueled and refilled by the One who gives it all everyday.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

