Home is where the Heart is <3

27 06 2011

Home.

“Home is where the heart is.”

“Home is a place you grow up wanting to leave, and grow old wanting to get back  to.”

“Home is not where you live, but where they understand you.”

Home is a concept that bring up many questions, thoughts and emotions.  Home for me is a concept that has changed over the past couple of years.  Growing up home was where my family was, the home in which I grew up.  I used to tell my parents that I wasn’t going to move out from home until I was 30 years old!  Obviously , that didn’t happen because at the age of 19 I moved 2 states away.  I’m sure my parents are thankful that I didn’t keep living at home until I was 30 but I think they wish I hadn’t moved so far away

When I first moved away from home, home was still home.  I got incredibly homesick for my childhood home, for my home town, for my family and for my friends.  I gained relationships at school and yet, home was still home

I then came to the spot of no return; I hit a spot where I would be in California and I would be homesick for Washington but then when I came home to Washington I still became homesick but this time for California. 

Wait, what did I just say?  Homesick for CA?!  Was that really happening?

What had always been home was no longer my only home.  Home had evolved from one location to multiple places where people near and dear to my heart dwelled.  Home changed from a focus on the place to a focus on the people.  And slowly, as time went on my homesick feelings began to disappear.  I missed my family and my friends but I was able to participate in the hear and now, to be present with those who were face to face with me, as well as be present with those in my life who aren’t with me physically.

And now I am at home again.  After my longest time away, almost 7 whole months, I am back home on vacation.  Now I’m struggling with the fact that although home has become where my people dwell, my childhood home is no longer going to be home and possibly in 11 months my home in CA will no longer be home.  My parents are moving now, my sister is going to have a baby not in our hometown and in 11 months I graduate.  I have no idea where I will be going after I graduate and my friends will be moving back home and/or away to jobs.  Home won’t be where home has become.

And so, as everything changes, home becomes, even more than it was before, based upon the people in my life than on the places that I have or will dwell.  My home is, Tacoma/Puyallup, Yakima, Spokane, WA, San Dimas, Covina, CA, CO, the East Coast and so much more.  The more people that I meet and the more my heart expands, the more my home expands. 

Home is where the heart is.

I’m thankful that my home is all over the country and the world as my heart expands.  As I meet new people and I send them out into the world, as I move and my location changes my heart, as well as my home is expandingWhat do you constitute as home?  And where is your heart at?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

