Wait, just wait.

God when is this going to end?

Wait, just wait.

God, how does this all fit together?

Wait, just wait.

God, who are you creating me to be?  How are my dreams going to come about?  How do I reconcile what I have heard you say to me and what is actually happening in my life?

Wait, just wait.

Wait… I sure have been hearing that word a lot lately.  Every time that I have had my quiet time with God I would start asking questions and His answer was always, “Wait.”  Wait for what I would think?  But His answer never grew to more than that one word, wait.  And as I heard that one, single, solitary word time and time again my questions would increase: What does wait even mean?  How do I wait?  What exactly am I waiting for?  How long do I wait?

At church in the past few weeks there have been at least two different times when a “word of the Lord” has been spoken to the church about waiting.  The first time they spoke that God was telling multiple people in the church that although we didn’t see what God was doing and how He was working it didn’t mean that He wasn’t in the midst of it all.  We are to just wait and trust that God is working and God will reveal what He is up to on His own timing.  The second time was just this morning and they repeated Isaiah 40:31 to the congregation.

You would think that those would be enough for me to stop and think about what it was that God was trying to say but no, there was more.  As I would be reading through scripture I came across verse after verse that talked about waiting on the Lord and waiting for Him.

Psalm 37:7 “Rest in the Lord and wait patiently for Him…”

Isaiah 40:31 “But those who wait on the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up on wings like eagles, they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint.”  

Lamentations 3:25-26 says “The Lord is good to those who wait for Him, to the soul who seeks Him.  It is good that one should hope and wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.”

What is this wait that I keep hearing about and reading about? In looking up the definition of the word wait I found that it means, “do nothing expecting something to happen,” to “stop so somebody can catch up,”be hoping for something,” “be delayed or ignored for now,” “be ready or available,” or to “delay something.”  In my bible the definition for the word wait that is written about is “to look for, to wait for, expect, hope.”  It says that the root of this word means “hope” or “expectancy” and that it could be understood as expressing “the idea of waiting hopefully.  People who wait on the Lord unlock powerful doors of blessing in their lives” and God “wants each believer to trust Him and to learn to wait for His timing.”

So what?  I now have a conceptual understanding of what the word wait means but does that have anything to do with me?  And if so, what?  It has everything to do with me and where I am at.  A few days ago I wrote about being content and that I am content where I am at in life because this is exactly where I am supposed to be.  I am doing what I am supposed to be doing.  I don’t need to be any further ahead or behind but instead I am to be right here, right now.  Could this be because I am stopping and waiting for somebody or something to catch up?  Could it be that I should be ready and available for what it is that God is doing?  Could it be that God is cultivating something inside of me and my life that isn’t quite ready to come forth; something that needs time until it is ready and something that needs me to stay rooted in my spot?

I find it interesting that the root word for wait means both hope as well as expectancy.  The term expectancy brings to mind pregnancy and the expectancy that comes before birth.  You do not find out that you are pregnant one day and go to the hospital the very next day to give birth, instead there must be a waiting that takes places.  The mother takes time to “stay still” in anticipation of the birth, there is a waiting for the child to fully develop and to, in a sense, catch up so that the actual birth can take place.  What it is that God is doing in the development of the child can’t be fully seen, it is not visible except through the growth of the belly and yet, there is no doubt that the child is developing.

Do I have any idea what it is that God is up to in my life?  No.  Do I have any idea how long I am supposed to wait?  No.  Do I like the idea of waiting?  No.  Does being certain of God’s working in my life and the hope that comes with waiting make the act of waiting anyeasier?  No.  Am I at all certain what it means to wait?  No.   But none of those things change the fact that God is doing something in my life and He is calling me to trust Him, to wait for His timing and to come to life full of hopeful expectancy.  And as time goes on, I know that slowly the unseeable workings of God, like the growth of an expectant mother’s belly grows, will begin to be visible and what is a mystery to me today will be revealed.  So one day at a time, one step at a time I will….

Wait, just wait.

One thought on “Wait, just wait.

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

